Caol Ila, gaelic for "The sound of Islay". In 1846 Hector Henderson, a partner in the Littlemill distillery came to Islay to build a distillery. He chosed a scenic but remote place attracted of good supply of clean and good water from nearby Loch Nam Ban. The view over the Sound of Jura from Caol Ila is a far more beautiful than the distillery itself, that looks more industrial than picturesque. In 1972 it was closed down for rebuilding, £ 1 millon later the new distillery reopened in 1974.
|Stills||3 wash 3 spirit|
|Watersource||Loch Nam Ban|
|Location||Port Askig Isle of Islay|